Prince and Swindlehurst selected for Team GB

TICKETS: The Go Goodwin’s Manchester Storm are back in action THIS Saturday 11th March when we take on the Edinburgh Capitals. Faceoff is at 7:00pm and tickets can be ordered online, by calling the box office on 0161 926 8782, or in person at the box office!

Team GB have named a 28-man squad for their upcoming training camp and challenges matches against Poland on Friday 14th April 2017 (National Ice Centre, Nottingham – 7:30pm) and  Saturday 15th April 2017 (The Skydome, Coventry – 1pm).

The roster contains 25 Elite League players, all of whom will be hoping to gain a place in the final 23-man squad for the 2017 IIHF World Championship (Division 1B), which will take place in Belfast from 23rd to 29th April 2017.

Fife Flyers’ Brendan Brooks has been called up to the GB team for the first time, whilst former Nottingham Panthers’ forward Evan Mosey has also been included in the squad.

Team GB head coach, Pete Russell, said: “We are delighted with our final 28 players.

“This was the toughest group to select but the coaches feel we have picked the right balance and the right group. There was so much competition across the board.”

“We have a good balance of offence and defence. I think it’s the strongest team we have selected in the two years we have been involved as coaches.

“We have been challenged to win a gold medal by the association and to do it on home soil.

“It’s going to be a wonderful experience and we need everyone behind the whole group. Let’s all pull together, be positive and believe this is our year.”

Tickets for GB’s game against Poland at the National Ice Centre in Nottingham can be purchased from the NIC box office or website, or by calling 0843 373 3000.

Tickets for GB’s game against Poland at The Skydome in Coventry, can be purchased from The Skydome box office or via the Planet Ice website, or by calling 02476 630 693.


Ben Bowns (Cardiff Devils)
Stephen Murphy (Belfast Giants)
Jackson Whistle (Belfast Giants)

Josh Batch (Cardiff Devils)
Mark Garside (Belfast Giants)
Steve Lee (Nottingham Panthers)
Ben O’Connor (Sheffield Steelers)
David Phillips (Sheffield Steelers)
Mark Richardson (Cardiff Devils)
Zach Sullivan (Braehead Clan)
Paul Swindlehurst (Manchester Storm)
Jonathan Weaver (Telford Tigers)

Brendan Brooks (Fife Flyers)
David Clarke (Nottingham Panthers)
Russell Cowley (Coventry Blaze)
Robert Dowd (Sheffield Steelers)
Sam Duggan (Orebro)
Robert Farmer (Nottingham Panthers)
Luke Ferrara (Sheffield Steelers)
Robert Lachowicz (Nottingham Panthers)
Evan Mosey (Rockford Ice Hogs)
Matthew Myers (Cardiff Devils)
Craig Peacock (Braehead Clan)
Jonathan Phillips (Sheffield Steelers)
Jack Prince (Manchester Storm)
Colin Shields (Belfast Giants)
Liam Stewart (Coventry Blaze)
Ross Venus (Coventry Blaze)